Week One Check In 


So here is my one week check on how going meatless is going. Overall, great. Yes I’ve gone a whole week without meat and ate little dairy, and I am not starving or malnourished in any way. Here is a breakdown of my thoughts and progress. 

Let’s start with the negatives. First of all, I have to be organized and pre pack my food for work. I also am going to have to go to the grocery store again because I’m out of some basics. Typically I can go two weeks before I have to restock on fruits and veggies. I have had a hankering for sugar, but I blame that on the endless supply of cake and cookies. Maybe a sugar detox needs to be in my near future. The only other negative I have to share is a person proclaiming “it’s just a chicken” when it was slipped that I’m avoiding meat and more specifically eggs. To this comment, I simply replied “we have a difference of opinions.” With this person, I was not going to venture into a moral or health debate. With others I may, but generally most people have not tried to challenge my journey. 

So now on to the positives. One of the largest motivations I had for trying a vegetarian/vegan lifestyle was to lose weight/get healthier. After my weekend in Lexington, I had gained back about 5 pounds. From last Monday to Saturday, I had lost 4 of those pounds. From my journaling, I have recorded (wow that sounds scientific) how I have been feeling. I have a significant amount of more energy, and I don’t feel as drained during the day. I have been able to completely my workouts, and on one run/walk I was about to run a bit further than I have had been able to for a while. In the past I have had issues sleeping throughout the night. This week, I have been falling asleep right at 11, and really not waking up. I also was had less problems waking up in the morning. 

 
Continuing on the positives, I have to talk about my food. I have not had a bad meal. I have tried several new recipes for dinner as well as changed some of my staples to make them veggie friendly. There are so many more dinners that I have recipes for, that I cannot make up my mind while pre planning for next week. For breakfast, several days I ate vegan whole grain waffles and the rest of the week I had quinoa oatmeal. Both I had with fruit. Both extremely filling. For lunch I ate mostly leftovers from our dinners. I did eat out this week too, and mostly it wasn’t hard. My office got coupons from Sheetz for breakfast and lunch. I had the best veggie sub for lunch with grilled peppers, greens, tomatoes, jalapeños, and guacamole. Today I had lunch with my family at O’Charley’s, and I had to get creative. Instead of a meal, I got an appetizer of fried green tomatoes with a salad. It was perfectly sufficient. Luckily for me, a lot of our local/non-chain restaurants gave lots of vegetarian/ vegan options. Typically, these are the places Derek and I already frequent so I’m not giving up my favorite places. Last night I had a Thai tofu burrito. It was AMAZING. Lastly I want to make sure I point out the fact I have not been hungry. I’ve actually felt more full after meals. When I do get hungry, I’ve been eating lots of fresh fruit and veggies with either hummus or peanut butter. 

So after a whole week, I have no regrets. I have no desire to eat any type of meat. I’m not starving to death. And I do not feel like I’m nutrient deficient at all. So my lovely readers, have a great week and hopefully I will have more great new to share next week.

Author: jessethephoenix

Teacher, learner, dog mom, and nerd

Leave a Reply

