Goals!

I am sure I have complained about this once, and I know I will 100 more time but I hate the scale. Since I have been trying to get healthy, I have found that it does nothing more than make me crazy. I have a horrible habit of checking it everyday, and if I don’t see the numbers getting smaller I freak. That being said, for the next month I am putting the scale away. Instead I’m going to focus on some short term and long term goal that I would like to achieve. I think this will help lessen my weight loss stress and help me see more positive changes.
First my 5 short term goal are: 

1. Do 15 regular push-up without stopping

Honestly, my upper body strength has never been great. I’m just that damsel in distress waiting on someone to carry that heavy box. But now I need to get rid of my angel wings (that’s underarm fat for those of you without a grandma from southern West Virginia). I have been trying to lift more and do other arm exercises. Two days ago, for fun, I decided to try to do regular push up. I could get 5 without stopping. So by the end of the month I would like to be able to do 15 nonstop regular push-ups. 

2. Wear pleather leggings to Comicon in March.

First of all, Derek and I are going to Comicon next month. I am SO excited. We went last year to this con and had a blast. This year, I actually read comics and found my nerd niche so I’m even more excited. There are some celebrities we want to meet, so we splurged for the VIP passes. These tickets include lots of things like early entry and an extra day but there is also a VIP party. I have a pair of pleather leggings that I bought the day my divorce was final and I have never been brave enough to wear them. No one wants to see a fat girl in super tight pleather pants. My goal is to be able to rock those suckers by March 10th. 

3. Go down another size in pants.

This one I’m pretty close to. Most of my pants that I just bought are pretty loose. Now just to officially go down a size. 

4. Track all food everyday. 

When I keep track of my food, I make better choices. I want to continue holding myself accountable to make good choices. 


5. Work out daily

I don’t think I need to do a long work out everyday. But I think I would see better results if I commit myself to do at least 10 minutes of something everyday. 

Long term goals

1. Fit into blue/red bathing suit

I bought a super cute bathing suit a few summers ago on Amazon, and I did not get the correct size. I didn’t want to send it back because it came from Japan, so I kept it just in case I lost weight. Last summer it was still too tight, but this summer I want it to fit. Maybe even be too big. 

2. Run 1 mile nonstop.

I’ve been trying to get better at running the last few months. I still have a long way to go, but I can usually run for half a mile before I die. I would like to be able to go a whole mile without stopping.

3. Be able to keep up at Universal

This week Derek and I officially booked our vacation to Universal Studios Orlando and we are doing the Harry Potter experience. I am so excited. Harry Potter is my favorite thing, and this will be a dream vacation. I’ve already started planning and we have 7 months. From previous experiences at Walt Disney World, I know there will be lots of walking. From previous experiences with Derek, I know he will walk much faster than I do. So I need to build my stamina up so I don’t slow us down, and so I am not exhausted the whole trip. I also want to be able to eat whatever I want without feeling like I ruined all of my hard work. 


4. Be within a healthy weight range.

The whole point of my diet and exercise change is to get healthy. Both diabetes and heart disease run on both sides of my family. I know that if I want to have a fighting chance to not have any issues, I have get within a healthy weight. Plus when I do choose to have kids, I want to teach them to have a healthy lifestyle and be an example for them. 

Author: jessethephoenix

Teacher, learner, dog mom, and nerd

Leave a Reply

